Special Interest Groups

It is vital now, more than ever before, that we establish self-sustaining captive-breeding populations of as many different species as possible. With this in mind, the Avicultural Society is supporting a number of Special Interest Groups. These put keepers and breeders in touch with each other to exchange information and birds, with the ultimate aim of forming the maximum number of unrelated breeding pairs. Although all of the contacts listed below are here in the UK, the Special Interest Groups are by no means confined solely to UK aviculturists, but also welcome contact with aviculturists throughout Europe, North America and elsewhere.

Contacts

Asian Starlings and Mynahs Sturnidae
Rob Monks Tel: 01905 351649 / E-mail: rob@pickersleigh.co.uk

Barbets Capitonidae
Mike Curzon MBE Tel: 01373 824077 / E-mail: mcurzonmbe@hotmail.co.uk

Blue-crowned Laughingthrush Garrulax courtoisi
Laura Gardner E-mail: toucan1@hotmail.co.uk

Bulbuls Pycnonotidiae and White-eyes Zosterops spp.
Terry Gonsolvis E-mail: terry@ipage.co.uk

Chestnut-backed Thrush Zoothera dohertyi
Jamie Graham E-mail: Jamie.Graham@zsl.org

Corvids Corvidae, Hornbills Bucerotidae, African Starlings Sturnidae
Geoff Masson E-mail: geoffmasson@paultons.co.uk

Fruit Doves, Ground Doves, Bleeding Hearts Columbidae
Rosemary Wiseman E-mail: ro.wiseman@virgin.net

Laughingthrushes (except the Blue-crowned and Sumatran) and Fairy Bluebird Irena puella
Ian Edmans E-mail: Ian.Edmans@nationaltrust.org.uk and Simon Matthews E-mail: Simon.Matthews@nationaltrust.org.uk

Liocichlas Liocichla spp.
Nigel Hewston E-mail: nigelhewston@btinternet.com

Pekin Robin Leiothrix lutea
Chris Dunn Tel: 07413 522485 / E-mail: chrisdunn1987@hotmail.co.uk

Seedeating Pigeons and Doves (except Gallicolumba)
Phil Schofield Tel: 01305 264361 / E-mail: p.schofield@dorsetcc.gov.uk

Snowy-crowned Robin-Chat Cossypha niveicapilla
Barry Woodley E-mail: andrea.woodley@btinternet.com

Sumatran Laughingthrush Garrulax bicolor
Andrew Owen E-mail: a.owen@chesterzoo.org

Sunbirds Nectariniidae
Joe Wood Tel: 01970871224 / E-mail: woodjoewood7@gmail.com

Toucans, Toucanettes and Aracaris Ramphastidae
Laura Gardner E-mail: toucan1@hotmail.co.uk

White-rumped Shama Copsychus malabaricus, Magpie Robin C. saularis and Mockingbirds Mimus spp.
Bob Jewiss Tel: 07545 958693 / E-mail: bobbyjewiss@blueyonder.co.uk